back on the couch

Reader Comments

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-09 - 8:54 a.m.

You live in Paris? Asks the female voice.

Yes. I moved here last month. Says Bean.

You work in Paris? Asks the female voice.

Well, yes. I am a writer. I work at home. Says Bean.

You have papers? Asks the female voice.

(sigh) No, but I have a lot of money. Says Bean.

A lot of money? The voice asks.

Well, ok, it depends on what you consider a lot I guess, I have enough to pay the rent and live for a few years. Bean replies.

Ok, I meet you at the apartment. What is a good time for you? The voice asks.

Anytime, as soon as possible. Bean says.

Bonne, then we meet at half past the two. Yes? Voice asks.

Ok, can you give me the address and the digicode? It is Place des Vosges, correct? Bean inquires.

It is near there, yes, in the 4th arrondisement. You can understand me? Voice asks.

Yes, but please speak slowly. Bean requests.

The address is For Tree rue des Francs Bourgois. Voice says.

Ok, 43, rue what? Bean asks.

Rue Francs, you know like France? Voice says.

Yes. Bean answers

And then Bourgois, you know this. Aristocrat, yes? You understand? Voice say.

Yes, I think I�ve got it. 43, rue Francois Bourigard? Bean replies.

Yes. See you there; I meet you in ze frount. The voice says.

Thank you, ok. Bean replies.

Ok. Yes. Bye Bye. Says the voice.

Grabbing a map I look up the street. Nowhere to be found. Damnit, I have to have these people start spelling for me. I am like a four year old. Ok, just look for something in the 4th that looks like rue Francois Bourigard near Place des Vosges. I hope this isn�t a waste of time I mutter.

One month in Paris and I just can�t take this apartment any longer. It�s not awful, but it just isn�t me and I am tired of coming home everyday to furniture I don�t like and carpeted floors that have stains on them. I hate carpet to begin with, but add the stains and, well, it just ain�t happening. My good buddy here; Jadem, turned me on to this great site called PAP.FR and it is like a French Craigslist. I have been scouring the advertisements (in French) trying to find a suitable apartment. Most of the people I speak with are kind enough, but just like in America, there is a whole different language when it comes to renting or buying an apartment. Cuisine American does not mean it has nice appliances like dishwasher, etc. It means the kitchen lacks a door, it is an open kitchen. Calme means quiet and usually the windows are facing another stone wall. Close to Metro means there isn�t anything else great about this place. Pretty much all the good apartments are on lone to dreams and fantasies or Hollywood. Everything I have seen (high end of my budget and low) looks like shit. And, honestly, my budget isn�t that bad. So after 10 or so viewings, my hopes are not dashed, only adjusted.

But after hanging up the phone with Madame Odile I felt pretty good, providing I actually am able to find Madame Odile somewhere in the 4th. It was a certain something in her voice. I felt like I had spoken with her before. Or like we knew each other. After all, she didn�t make a fuss about the papers. And if the apartment is near Place des Vosges it must be nice, right? Ok, so I am borrowing from the dreams / fantasies / Hollywood for minute.

But after a month of living with these stains and seeing a parade of tenement like housing can you blame me?

back - forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!