back on the couch

Reader Comments

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-14 - 9:03 a.m.

He screams. He screams in the middle of the night, and again towards dawn. I awake each time. When he screams in the middle of the night I don�t give him much thought, other than �Fuck you�. But when he screams in the early light, in the pre-dawn hours I feel a bit for him. Is he greeting the day? And if so, what kind of hell must he face each day? I want so much to pound, to bang with closed fists on the wall �STOP! YOU ARE WAKING ME!� and I am not ready to be awake. But since I am new to this building, albeit this city, instead I pull my dog Junior closer to me (thus waking her) and try to cuddle, try to shut out his nightmares lest they become mine,

Today I saw him in the courtyard. A young, 20ish Chinese man. I know his secret. I felt at once sorry and powerful. My thoughts were �I need to sleep� My words were �Bonjour�. Could it be he dreams of something tortuous? I never gave much thought to what it is he actually dreams, I only thought of his nightmares as they affected ME. Wow, you can take the American out of America but you can�t�

Something grander, something bolder, something unexplainable is working here. His nightmares are making me aware of something. Not his suffering, for I can�t relate to that which is so personal and yet so impersonal. No, I am beginning to be aware of a spirit that is spreading across our earth, across our earth at a speed that we have yet to register. I realize, with sadness and surprise, I am indifferent. I am indifferent to this man who lives next to me. Only a thin wall separates us, yet I know nothing of him other than his ethnic origin, and that he is haunted, perused, hunted by a force that wakens him screaming each night, regularly.

His nightmares have become my radical alarm clock.

And I can do nothing. I just listen, and try to fall back asleep.

Is this a calling?

Do I wish to do anything?

When duty whispers �Thou Must�

The youth replies �I can�

As someone who can no longer call themselves �The Youth� Am I released of any responsibility?

Am I just very tired of 3 continuous nights of this?

Yes, that�s it.

Note to waking self: earplugs.

back - forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!