back on the couch

Reader Comments

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-15 - 9:00 p.m.

Another nightmare woke me up in the middle of the night. This time I woke myself up with my screaming, shouting really. But I can�t remember what it was about. I do know it wasn�t as bad as the other night, the night I called floodtide (and thank you for answering). That one left me drained and completely out of it. At least with the one from last night I was able to fall back asleep. Grady told me I talk in my sleep�a lot! Sometimes I do catch myself, it�s usually when I am really trying to get my point across in a dream, and my mouth won�t form the words properly, so I have to try harder and harder, I think that�s when I begin talking in my sleep. The odd thing is, when I first moved in to this flat I use to be woken up every night by the neighbor on the other side of my bedroom wall, by his nightmare�s, he use to scream in the middle of the night and it scared the shit out of me. I can�t help but wonder if his demons have moved in to my flat.

Nothing will beat the nightmare I had when Job and Ella spent that one night here with me before going on to their vacation rental on Isle St. Louis. I was sleeping on the couch so they could have the privacy of my bedroom. I have never recalled what the nightmare was, but I woke up and Job was sitting on the edge of the couch with my head in his hands, Ella was standing at the foot of the couch and was holding Junior, Junior was shaking like a leaf in her arms. All seemed ok, and we all went back to sleep, the next thing I knew I was awake again and clinging to Job�s chest, my fingers were digging in to his skin and I was crying �Don�t leave me, don�t leave me� Even as he held me and said he never would I still couldn�t leave the weird dreamlike state. We were all a rather sober bunch the next morning, until at breakfast Job finally said, �Well that shit was weird last night, wasn�t it?� Later that day Ella and I went for afternoon coffee while Job took a nap, I asked her to tell me what had happened and while she did I was getting Goosebumps all over me, it was like hearing a story about someone else. I don�t want to have a nightmare like that alone.

Admittedly I am anxious to get to Berlin because of these, I am going to buy and burn some sage before I even unpack one box in the new flat. I am so glad it is a brand new building, so there won�t be any sad, trapped, ghosts left over from someone else. I am not generally a believer, but I can�t help but find it a little reassuring that no one will have slept in this place before me, especially since we a re talking about a country and city that is undoubtedly filled with souls still looking for answers.

I don�t have the answers, so I don�t want to be asked for them.

back - forward

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!